The remits of the European Union (EU) are defined in the European treaties. They comprise exclusive remits (customs union, establishing rules regarding competition, monetary policy, etc.), shared remits (internal market, social policy, agriculture and fishing, etc.), supporting remits (industry, culture, tourism, etc.) and specific remits.

The EU institutions and authorities comprise a European Parliament, a European Council, a Council of the European Union and a European Commission, as well as other institutions and authorities (Court of Justice, Court of Auditors, European Central Bank, etc.).

Back to stakeholders and institutions