Federal state

Since 1993, Belgium has been a federal state. The sixth state reform confers authority to the federal state in numerous fields, such as foreign affairs, national defence, justice, finance, social security, and a large share of public health and domestic affairs. The federal authorities comprise a Government, a Parliament, federal public services (SPF) and public-planning services (SPP).

Back to stakeholders and institutions