Wallonia has 262 municipalities, including nine that are located in the German-speaking region (German-Speaking Community of Belgium). The municipalities execute the decisions made by the various levels of power, but also have their own decision-making powers pertaining to matters of municipal interest. The municipalities are free to take initiatives provided that the matter is not excluded from their remit by the constitution, a law or a decree.

The municipalities' compulsory duties include:

  • organising and co-funding the public social-welfare centres;
  • organising municipal primary education;
  • managing public records;
  • maintaining population registers;
  • drawing up the electoral lists;
  • maintaining public order;
  • building and maintaining municipal roads.

The municipalities also have optional duties, such as non-primary education, tourism and promoting cultural activities.

The municipalities perform their duties through the municipal administration, which is made up of municipal staff. As specific members of its administration, each has a director-general (formerly the municipal secretary) and a financial director (formerly the municipal receiver).

Municipal elections take place every six years, at the same time as the provincial elections. The political authorities comprise a Council, a Committee and a Burgomaster.

More info ?

Wallonia Geoportal


Back to stakeholders and institutions