Wallonia has five provinces: Walloon Brabant, Hainaut, Liège, Luxembourg and Namur. 

The provinces are subordinate local authorities: they execute certain decisions that are made by the regional authority, in particular in terms of authority over the municipalities and their budgets. 

They also have their own remits over provincial matters, such as education, culture, social assistance and heritage.
The provinces have provincial authority to carry out their duties. Each province organises its administration in accordance with its needs.

Provincial elections take place every six years, at the same time as the municipal elections. The political authorities comprise a Council, a Committee and a Governor.

More info ?

Wallonia Geoportal


Back to stakeholders and institutions